My Top 10 1980’s Power Ballads

1980's

As you may have guessed, we’re coming up to crunch time for dissertations. My two 9,000-word masterpieces (yes, that’s 18,000 words) are due five weeks from tomorrow. So trust me when I say I know a little bit about motivating music. Lately I’ve been rekindling my love for 1980’s music with the kind help of Absolute 80’s and discovering it’s the perfect music to power you through lunchtime breaks and slow periods when you’re stuck on BuzzFeed but then realise, with a sinking stomach, that you have to close the page, put down your phone and get back to research. Here’s the top ten reasons why you should get up in the morning, grow your hair long and loose and air guitar your little essay-sodden heart out:

The sirens are screaming and the fires are howling/Way down in the valley tonight Meat Loaf – Bat Out of Hell

Here we stand or here we fall/History won’t care at all/Make the bed, light the light/Lady mercy won’t be home tonight Queen – Hammer To Fall

Love is like a bomb, baby, c’mon get it on/Livin’ like a lover with a radar phone/Lookin’ like a tramp, like a video vamp/Demolition woman, can I be your man? Def Leppard – Pour Some Sugar On Me

Your cruel device/your blood, like ice/One look, could kill/My pain, your thrill Alice Cooper – Poison

I get the same old dreams, same time every night/Fall to the ground and I wake up Rainbow – Since You’ve Been Gone 

She loves to laugh/She loves to sing /She does everything  Journey – Any Way You Want It

It’s not in the way that you hold me/It’s not in the way you say you care Toto – Hold The Line 

Say you don’t know me or recognize my face/Say you don’t care who goes to that kind of place Starship – We Built This City 

The power of love is a curious thing/Make one man weep, make another man sing Huey Lewis and the News – The Power Of Love 

Workin’ like a dog for the boss man/Workin’ for the company/I’m bettin’ on the dice I’m tossin’/I’m gonna have a fantasy Aerosmith – Love In An Elevator 

 

Leave a Reply

