Coconut Chocolate Mug Cake

I’m a fourth-and-final-year university student. I am selling the house I am living in. I am completing two dissertations and working on revision for six hours of exams I will have in May. I am applying left right and centre for internships and work placements, confirming and practising for interviews. I am applying for a Masters’ degree, filling in all the relevant paperwork, doing the additional statements and interviews required and agonising over when I will know my fate. I am attempting to maintain, or salvage, something of a social life, whilst keeping up with the basics like exercising, sleeping and feeding.

Sometimes, I need a break.

For me, a break usually comes in edible form. Something I can make, by myself, and then sit and enjoy, by myself. Tonight, after the emotional peaks and troughs of getting a confirmed interview with Vanity Fair and learning that footnotes are actually part of my dissertations’ word count, this comfort break came in the form of coconut chocolate mug cake.

I have been obsessed with coconut recently – longer post to come in due course – and it only seemed natural to add to this basic chocolate microwave mug recipe. Throw in some last-second Oreos and you, my friend, have a little mug party. When I raided my cupboard, I found I only had wholemeal flour/soft brown sugar and I’ve gone dairy free so I only have coconut milk – which is delicious anyway – but of course this can be made with plain white flour/caster sugar/cow’s milk instead.

Coconut Mug Cake

You will need: a large mug and a tablespoon.

Spoon 3tbsp wholemeal flour, 3tbsp soft brown sugar, 1/2 tbsp desiccated coconut and 1tbsp (heaped) cocoa powder into the mug and stir.

Add an egg and beat thoroughly. The mixture will still be a bit dry.

Add 4tbsp coconut milk and stir that baby up.

If you have one handy – don’t we all? – add one crumbled up Oreo. Actually, any biscuit will do. Stir.

Pop it in the microwave for 90 seconds at 900 watts. Take it out and have a look. Mine was slightly overdone at two minutes, so just see how it looks. When done, sprinkle on a bit more coconut.

Get yourself a cup of tea, put your feet up and relax for five minutes. It’s worth every second.

Leave a Reply

